top of page

I Am Very Concerned....

I am very concerned about the current state of education. Virtual Learning is not for every child and yet, we don't have a choice. We are in the middle of a national pandemic and are still unsure of when and how schools will reopen. As I sit with my 10 year old fifth grader and monitor my 3 teens in 8th, 10th and 12th each day, I witness first hand the challenges students are having. One of the fifth graders in my son's class is trying very hard to focus. However, every time she unmutes her laptop, you hear several children in the background, screaming, yelling, etc. The assumption is that she is in a day care. Another child unmutes and behind his answer, you hear adults cursing loudly. While my 5th grader is extremely bright, he is easily bored. The teacher can spend up to 15-30 minutes explaining a math problem, which my son completed within 5 minutes. As an educator, I am able to give him supplemental work and make sure he stays on target. I feel for the students who do not have this option. I also have friends who have pitched in for a teacher with another group of parents and formed a pod. In this pod, a trained teacher sits with a small group of students and works with them as they do their assignments.

Ultimately, the playing field is being unleveled even more. Which means, more students will be left behind. If we had an active Secretary of Education, much of these challenges could have been avoided and addressed at the onset of this forced virtual learning. She should be doing daily briefings and planning with teachers and parents across the country on a regular basis.

Only time will reveal the impact of this time of virtual learning. I pray daily for the babies who are being left behind. I encourage parents to read novels with their children, discuss current events and the politics of the day. Do mental health check ins on a weekly basis. This is a difficult time. The uncertainty of the days have their anxiety up and they need mental health days where they are not required to do anything. Stay alert. Even the teens need extra attention. We will get through this, but not unscathed.


bottom of page