top of page

Pushing Past Guards..One Convo At A Time

It was the end of my Junior at UC Berkeley. I was 22 years old and living away from home in another state for the first time in my life. I chose to work for a summer program in Miami, FL. Even though I had applied to the SummerBridge program, and read the brochures they sent me, I had no idea what I was walking into. I knew the program was being sponsored by a private school in Coconut Grove, but I did not know what to fully expect. Back then, we did not have access to the internet. Therefore, my research was very limited. I'd had an extensive conversation with the program director, John and he told me as much as he could.

One unique part of the experience included me living with families of the students who attended the school which sponsored the program. I did not know this was an independent school for mostly white and rich families. In fact, I didn't even know what an independent school was at the time. When I arrived at the airport, I looked for the beautiful Palm Trees I dreamt about. I also kept an eye out for the alligators my mom warned me about. She had me thinking there were alligators walking the streets like dogs and cats. I was on guard. In many ways, I was on guard.

John appeared at the luggage carousel..blond, blue eyed, buff and very calm. We had a mellow ride to the office as he explained that I'd be staying with a family. He went on to tell me about the family...a father, mother, daughter and son. A white family. Although I said, I was fine with that arrangement, I was terrified. I'd never slept in the same home with any other race. My only contact with whites was in positions of authority or classmates at Berkeley. We were in no social settings together. Ever. In fact, Berkeley, although diverse, was very segregated.

I will not share all of this experience just yet. But know that I pushed past my guards and formed bonds with all races during that summer. The staff was multi racial. We were tasked with coming together to plan and execute a dynamic summer experience for the children of Miami. Most of the children were black and latino from the inner city. The barriers were broken down through conversations. Conversations about our lives, experiences and even misconceptions about each others race/culture. We bonded through these convos and I consider them to be an extension of my family to this day.

I loved my time in Miami and with SummerBridge so much, I went back four more summers and each time the director gave me more and more responsibilities to lead and unite the team.

Racial understanding starts with conversations.

bottom of page